IFAS-Halle

Introducing Ourselves

The Institute for Fluid Power Drives and Controls (IFAS) of RWTH Aachen University is one of the largest institutions of its kind involved in the research of all aspects of fluid power. Apart from mechanical engineering, the research comprises other topics, such as information technology, servo-control engineering, electrical engineering, tribology and chemistry.

Changes in the general social-political conditions characterise the requirements and developments of fluid power for the future. Greater environmental awareness, as well as new technologies like mechatronic systems, condition monitoring, surface coating techniques or modern information technologies lead to solutions that reveal new perspectives and fields of application for fluid power systems.

A motivated team of aspiring young scientists takes on the challenges presented by this diversified field of study. The intensive national and international contacts established between the institute and the manufacturers / users of fluid power components and systems, as well as other research facilities, ensure that its activities always comply with upcoming demands.

Aims of IFAS...

...are to initiate continuous advances in the specialised field of fluid power by means of innovative research, development and education. The basis for this is created by the integration of motivated students and trainees in practical and theoretical project work. This way they acquire their professional qualification and are given the opportunity to obtain their doctorates.

Continuous education and training contribute towards expansion and further development of fluid power as well as a professionally satisfying career.

Historical Highlights

As nationally and internationally recognized research institution, the IFAS is and has been pioneering many developments in Fluid Power technology.
1960s Beginnings of servo hydraulics, fluidics
1970s Basis of cavitation research, servo pneumatics, pump controlled systems
1980s Digital control, development of DSHplus (simulation tool), proportiona / directional control cartridge valves, secondary control
1990s Pre-compression chamber in piston pumps, fuzzy control, bio fluids, piezo technology, sealing engineering (blow-by effect)
2000s Tribology, gap simulation, mass conservative system simulation, integrated drives, mechatronics, piezo actuators, bus communication, condition monitoring, self-energizing electro-hydraulic brake,
servopneumatic hand, intelligent grippers
2010s Energy savings and efficiency improvements, hybrid drives, efficient gab simulations for hard and softcontacts, contact models, friction models, novel approaches for hydraulic and pneumatic units,
fluid analysis (TMFB), multidisciplinarity, merging of drives and controls, campus cluster heavy duty drivetrains

History

1968 Establishment of the Institute for Hydraulic and Pneumatic Drives and Controls (IHP) under direction of Prof. Backé in the rooms of the Institute for agricultural technology in the Eilfschornsteinstraße
1972 Move to the newly constructed Centre Building in the Kopernikusstraße
1977 Relocation of the Institute in the development area Seffent-Melaten
1994 Prof. Backé retires as emeritus professor and Prof. Murrenhoff is appointed; change of the leadership with simultaneous change of the name into Institute for Fluid Power Drives and Controls (IFAS)
1998 Completion of the building extension to expand the test field and add a new library, seminar room and CAD room
Establishment of the International Fluid Power Conference (IFK) with the two-year alternating venues Aachen – Dresden
2004 Extensive renovation of the test field (oil laboratory, surface measurement room, electrical workshop, etc.) and office wing
2005 Successful completion of the Collaborative Research Centre 368 "Autonomous Production Cells"
2008 40 years of fluid power at RWTH Aachen University
Participation in cluster of excellence "Tailor-Made Fuels from Biomass (TMFB)"
2009 Colloquium to honour the 80th birthday of Prof. Backé
Successful completion of the Collaborative Research Centre 442 "Environmentally Friendly Tribosystems"
2010 Renewal of the laboratory’s central pressure supply
2013 Colloquium to honour the 60th birthday of Prof. Murrenhoff
Acquisition of the funding of the VIP Project STEAM
2014 Prof. Murrenhoff receives ASME Robert E. Koski Medal
Acquisition of the funding of a DFG Koselleck Project in cooperation with Dr. Persson (FZ Jülich)
IFAS Halle
expansion building of IFAS institute
Luftbild
aerial view of IFAS

IFAS-Halle

Wir über uns

Das Institut für fluidtechnische Antriebe und Steuerungen (IFAS) der RWTH Aachen befasst sich als eines der weltweit größten Institute seiner Art mit der Forschung und Lehre auf allen Gebieten der Fluidtechnik. Sie umfasst heute neben dem Maschinenbau auch Disziplinen wie die Informatik, die Regelungstechnik, die Elektrotechnik, die Tribologie und die Chemie.

Veränderte gesellschaftspolitische Rahmenbedingungen prägen die Anforderungen und Entwicklungen der Fluidtechnik für die Zukunft. Gestiegenes Umweltbewusstsein, aber auch neue Techniken wie integrierte mechatronische Systeme, das Condition Monitoring, die Oberflächentechnik oder moderne Informationsverarbeitungs- und Übertragungssysteme bringen Lösungen hervor, die neue Perspektiven und Anwendungsgebiete für fluidtechnische Systeme erschließen.

Ein motiviertes Team aus wissenschaftlichem Nachwuchs stellt sich den aus diesem weitgefächerten Arbeitsgebiet resultierenden Aufgaben. Die intensiven nationalen und internationalen Kontakte des Instituts zu Herstellern und Anwendern fluidtechnischer Komponenten und Systeme und anderen Forschungseinrichtungen gewährleisten stets eine Ausrichtung der Aktivitäten am Puls der Zeit.

Ziele des IFAS...

...sind, das Fachgebiet der Fluidtechnik durch innovative Forschung und Entwicklung sowie die Lehre ständig voranzubringen. Durch die Integration motivierter Studierender und Auszubildender in die praktische und theoretische Projektarbeit werden diese Ziele konsequent verfolgt. Sie erlangen so ihre berufsqualifizierenden Abschlüsse sowie darauf aufbauende akademische Qualifikationen wie die Promotion.

Die Vermittlung praxisgerechter Aus- und Weiterbildung trägt damit nicht nur zur Entfaltung und Weiterentwicklung der Fluidtechnik bei, sondern bildet auch den Grundstein einer beruflich erfüllenden Laufbahn.

Historische Höhepunkte

Als national und international anerkanntes Forschungsinstitut auf dem Gebiet der Fluidtechnik war und ist das IFAS (eh. IHP) wegbereitend für viele bahnbrechende Entwicklungen in diesem Bereich. Im folgenden sind die historischen Highlights der Entwicklungen am IFAS aufgeführt.
60er Jahre Anfänge der Servohydraulik und Fluidik
70er Jahre Basis der Kavitationsforschung, Servopneumatik und Verdrängersteuerungen
80er Jahre Digitale Regelung, Digitale Simulation mit DSHplus, Sekundärregelung, Proportional- / 2-Wege- Einbauventiltechnik
90er Jahre Umsteuerkapazität in Kolbenpumpen, Fuzzy Regelung, Bio-Fluide, Piezo-Technik, Dichtungstechnik (Blow-By-Effekt)
2000er Jahre Tribologie, Spaltsimulation, Massenkonservative Systemsimulation, Integrierte Antriebe, Mechatronik, Piezotechnik, Busprofile, Condition Monitoring, selbstverstärkende elektro-hydraulische Bremse,
servopneumatische Hand, intelligente Greifer
2010er Jahre Energieeinsparung und Effizienzsteigerung, Hybride Antriebe, effiziente Spaltberechnungen für harte und weiche Kontakte, Kontaktmodelle, Reibkraftmodelle, neue Verdrängerbauarten in Hydraulik und
Pneumatik, Fluidanalytik (TMFB), Interdisziplinarität, Vernetzung mit Antriebs- und Regelungstechnik, Campus Cluster Schwerlastantriebstechnik

Historie

1968 Gründung des Instituts für hydraulische und pneumatische Antriebe und Steuerungen (IHP) unter Leitung von Prof. Backé in den Räumlichkeiten des Instituts für Landtechnik in der Eilfschornsteinstraße
1972 Umzug in den neu errichteten Sammelbau in der Kopernikusstraße
1977 Verlegung des Instituts in das Neubaugebiet Seffent-Melaten
1994 Emeritierung von Prof. Backé und Berufung von Prof. Murrenhoff; Übernahme der Institutsleitung bei gleichzeitiger Umbenennung in Institut für fluidtechnische Antriebe und Steuerungen (IFAS)
1998 Fertigstellung des Erweiterungsbaus zur Ausdehnung des Versuchsfeldes, sowie Neueinrichtung von Bibliothek, Seminar- und CAD-Raum
Etablierung des Internationalen Fluidtechnischen Kolloquiums (IFK) mit den zweijährig wechselnden Veranstaltungsorten Aachen – Dresden
2004 Umfassende Renovierung von Prüffeld (Öllabor, Oberflächenmessraum, E-Werkstatt, etc.) und Bürotrakt
2005 Erfolgreicher Abschluss des Sonderforschungsbereichs 368 "Autonome Produktionszellen"
2008 40 Jahre Fluidtechnik an der RWTH Aachen
Mitwirkung im Exzellenzcluster "Maßgeschneiderte Kraftstoffe aus Biomasse (TMFB)"
2009 Kolloquium anlässlich des 80. Geburtstags von Prof. Backé
Erfolgreicher Abschluss des Sonderforschungsbereichs 442 "Umweltverträgliche Tribosysteme"
2010 Erneuerung der zentralen Druckversorgung des Versuchsfeldes
2013 Kolloquium anlässlich des 60. Geburtstages von Prof. Murrenhoff
Einwerbung des VIP Projektes STEAM
2014 Verleihung der ASME Robert E. Koski Medal an Prof. Murrenhoff
Einwerbung eines DFG Koselleck Projektes gemeinsam mit Dr. Persson vom FZ Jülich
IFAS Halle
Erweiterungsbau des IFAS
Luftbild
Luftbild des IFAS